Christian Denominations

Christianity - Occult World

The word denomination is used for a large group of Christian people right across the world who use the same name, the same sort of organisation and have the same (or very similar) beliefs. Christianity is divided into five main groups. These groups all branched out at different dates from the Early Christian Church founded by the followers of [intlink id=”jesus-christ” type=”post”]Jesus[/intlink]. The splits generally happened because they could not agree on cetain beliefs or practices. The groups then divided into smaller groups. Each group that has its own separate name is a “denomination”. The word “denomination” means “having a name”.


Worldwide Christianity is divided into five major groups of Churches:

Roman Catholic

Eastern Orthodox

Oriental Orthodox



Each of these five has important subdivisions.

The Protestant branch of Christianity is much more divided up than any of the others.

Each separate Protestant Church is called a “denomination”. While the Roman Catholic Church looks to a single earthly leader, the Pope, and has similar beliefs right across the world, the Protestant denominations do not look to a single leader and sometimes have beliefs that are very different from each other.

Last updated: September 19, 2014 at 14:46 pm

Back to Christianity

Back to Worldreligions

Back to Home

Facebook Comments

About Occult World

Occult World is online since February 23, 2003 . First as and then as Occult World is a project to collect articles about interesting topics - concerning the mysterious world we live in. Occult World is a project by Occult Media.