Feng Shui

Feng Shui refers to the ancient Chinese practice of studying and following the natural currents of the Earth to ensure the proper alignment with them so that Qi is not disrupted.


Some references in writing cited that the traces of Feng Shui were evident as early as 2700 BC. At first, it was used to locate the best position for burial sites in order to bring good fortune to the descendants. With this concept, the standard on arranging the entire villages was set. Kingdoms were planned based on Feng Shui and the capital of each kingdom was built on a land with good energy forces to have positive fortune.
The three ancient fundamentals of Feng Shui are: the compass, the Ba Gua or the pa’kua, and the theory of change were developed by shamans, diviners, and kings.
The compass, called Lo-Pan, was first used during the T’ang Dynasty (618-906 AD). This compass has twenty-four directions and seventeen rings.

The pa’kua was first used by King Wen at the beginning of the Chou Dynasty (1122-207 BC) to describe the patterns of change in the natural world. It was also used in the 8th century BC to bring harmony and wealth to the kingdom by promoting the flow of nourishing energy inside a city of palace.
A basic principal and a key part of Feng Shui is the chi, or the dragon’s celestial breath. It can be really good karma bringing happiness and prosperity, but if it flows to quickly it can be a destabilizing force. Although chi flows everywhere it is more abundant in some places than in others. Clearing clutter and softening sharp edges are some good ways to keep positive chi flowing.
The practice of Feng Shui became forbidden in 1949. After the invasion of the European countries, the intellectuals of China began to question their ancient heritage. Taking after the west, people began to regard Feng Shui with superstition. During that time however, other Asian countries began to practice Feng Shui.
The California gold rush of the 1840’s brought Chinese immigrants looking for fortunes. They introduced the ancient beliefs of Feng Shui to the United States. Now America has a much simpler Western version of Feng Shui.


Feng shui is typically associated with the following techniques.
Xingshi Pai (“Forms” Methods)
Luan Dou Pai, 峦头派, Pinyin: luán tóu pài, (environmental analysis without using a compass)
Xing Xiang Pai, 形象派 or 形像派, Pinyin: xíng xiàng pài, (Imaging forms)
Xingfa Pai, 形法派, Pinyin: xíng fǎ pài
Liqi Pai (“Compass” Methods)
San Yuan Method, 三元派 (Pinyin: sān yuán pài)
Dragon Gate Eight Formation, 龍門八法 (Pinyin: lóng mén bà fǎ)
Xuan Kong, 玄空 (time and space methods)
Xuan Kong Fei Xing 玄空飛星 (Flying Stars methods of time and directions)
Xuan Kong Da Gua, 玄空大卦 (“Secret Decree” or 64 gua relationships)
San He Method, 三合派 (environmental analysis using a compass)
Accessing Dragon Methods
Ba Zhai, 八宅 (Eight Mansions)
Water Methods, 河洛水法
Local Embrace
Four Pillars of Destiny, 四柱命理 (a form of hemerology)
Major and Minor Wandering Stars (Constellations)
Five phases, 五行 (relationship of the five phases or wuxing)

To read more about Feng Shui click on the next page