Thwarting angels are angels who nullify the powers of specific Demons. All diseases, bad weather, and other misfortunes are caused by certain Demons. Each Demon has a thwarting angel who can be summoned in prayer and Magic to stop or cancel out the Demon’s mischief. Knowing the appropriate thwarting angel is important in order to invoke the fastest and best help. The most important thwarting angels are the planetary rulers, six angels who have the sole powers to thwart the Demonic HEAVENLY BODIES of the world of darkness responsible for all the misery in the world. The planetary rulers are as follows:
1. Lamachiel, who thwarts Deception
2. Baruchiel, who thwarts Strife
3. Marmaroth, who thwarts Fate
4. Balthioul, who thwarts Distress
5. Uriel, who thwarts Error
6. Asteraoth, who thwarts Power



The Encyclopedia of Demons and Demonology – Written by Rosemary Ellen Guiley – Copyright © 2009 by Visionary Living, Inc.

Related Articles


Uriel One of the most important angels, described as an archangel, seraph, and cherub. Uriel probably means “fire of God” or “God is my light.”…