Blood Canticle (2003) – by Anne Rice

The final novel in Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. Blood Canticle is narrated by Rice’s leading Vampire, Lestat de Lioncourt, for the first time since Memnoch the Devil in 1995. The novel merges the streams of vampires and Mayfair witches in Rice’s many novels, typing up loose ends with various story lines and characters. The story opens at the end of Blackwood Farm (2002).

Quinn Blackwood is free of his vampiric doppelganger. He and Lestat turn Blackwood’s love, the witch Mona Mayfair, into a vampire. Lestat is obsessed with redemption and becoming a saint, a consequence of his experiences with Memnoch the Devil. This is an impossibility for him, though he desires it, nonetheless. He falls in love with Rowan Mayfair, a married woman, and is charmed by mortal life at Blackwood Farm.

He learns about unconditional, pure love, and attempts to redeem himself in unselfish love concerning Rowan. In the end, he chooses to be neither good nor evil. See also Doppelsauger.

Further Reading:

“Q&A with Anne Rice About Blood Canticle.” Available online. URL: annerice/interview03.html. Downloaded on December 21, 2003.
Rice, Anne. Blood Canticle. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2003.

Taken from : The Encyclopedia of Vampires, Werewolves, and Other Monsters

Edited for the Web by Occult World


Back to Vampire Books

Back to Vampires