Nine Worlds

Nine Worlds : In Norse mythology, the worlds that made up the cosmos, watched over by Odin. They are Asgard, the home of the Aesir gods; Vanaheim, the home of the Vanir gods; Midgard, the home of humankind; Alfheim, the home of the light dwarfs or elves; Jotunheim, the home of giants; Svartalfaheim, the home of the dark elves; Nifelheim, the land of dark, cold, and mist; the ninth is unknown, though some accounts say it is Nithavellir, the land of the dwarfs.


Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend, Third Edition – Written by Anthony S. Mercatante & James R. Dow
Copyright © 2009 by Anthony S. Mercatante

Norse Mythology

Back to Norse Mythology

Norse Mythology