Seven Sages of Greece

Seven Sages of Greece – In Greek history and legend, seven men noted for their wisdom. They are

  • Thales of Miletus (seventh century b.c.e.), who believed the material basis for the world was water and was noted for his absentmindedness, as when he fell down a well while not paying attention;
  • Solon of Athens (c. 640–c. 560 b.c.e.), a lawmaker noted for his remark to Croesus, whom he met in Lydia, that no man could be said to have lived a happy life until he was dead;
  • Bias of Priene;
  • Chilo Sparta, who brought back the bones of Orestes;
  • Cleobulus of Rhodes;
  • Periander of Corinth (c. 625–585 b.c.e.), patron of the arts who dedicated the Chest of Cypselus at Olympia, which was decorated with gold and ivory reliefs of scenes from Greek mythology, his court being the setting of Plutarch’s Symposium of the Seven Sages; and
  • Pittacus of Mytilene (c. 650– 570 b.c.e.), a moderate democratic reformer.


Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend, Third Edition – Written by Anthony S. Mercatante & James R. Dow-Copyright © 2009 by Anthony S. Mercatante


Related Articles


Aethra (bright sky) In Greek mythology, mother of Theseus by Aegeus or, according to another account, by Poseidon. Homer mentions her as a servant to…


Devala In Hindu mythology, the personification of music as a female. The name also is used for several sages who, legend says, composed hymns for…


Pausanias (second century c.e.) Greek travel author of the Description of Greece, which covers topography, legends, myths, rituals, and histories of various places. It is…


Erigone (plentiful offspring) In Greek mythology, daughter of Icarius of Athens. She was raped by Dionysus, who transformed himself into a grape. When her father…