Seven African Powers

Seven African Powers

The specific orishas who are most involved in human everyday matters may be invoked together as a group known as the Seven African Powers. By petitioning these orishas en masse rather than individually, one is assured that all bases are covered. The Seven African Powers provide all Earth’s potential blessings and protections.

1. Eshu Elegbara (a.k.a. Elegba, Ellegua, Legba)

2. Ogun

3. Obatala

4. Yemaya

5. Oshun

6. Shango

7. Orunmila, Oya, or Ochossi

Seven African Powers
Click on Image

Because the magic number seven cannot be changed, a new orisha cannot be added unless another is removed. Orunmila is the traditional seventh African Power but over the years he has become less popular than Oya and Ochossi. Either of the two is now frequently substituted for him.




Commercially produced Seven African Powers products (incense, candles, soap, and so forth) frequently depict them in the guise of the Catholic saints to which they are syncretized.

See Also:

  • Eight Immortals
  • Shichi Fukujin


You may be also interested in :

Orisha Oko – Orisha of Fertility, Progress and Evolution: A Guide to Accessing the Divinity’s Blessings - Awo Olumide Achaba
Obí, Oracle of Cuban Santería - Ócha'ni Lele
Santeria: The Beliefs and Rituals of a Growing Religion in America - Miguel A. De La Torre
Exu, Divine Trickster and Master Magician – Denise Alvarado
Eshu-Ellegua Elegbarra: Santeria and the Orisha of the Crossroads - Raul Cañizares
Diloggún tales of the natural world - Santería stories - Ócha'ni Lele
Mysteries and Secrets of Voodoo, Santeria, and Obeah - Lionel and Patricia Fanthorpe
Prayers to the Orishas
The Santeria Experience -Migene Gonzalez-Wippler
The Secrets of Afro-Cuban Divination: How to Cast the Diloggún, the Oracle of the Orishas -  Ócha'ni Lele
Santeria: Correcting the Myths and Uncovering the Realities of a Growing Religion -  Mary Ann Clark
Osogbo: Speaking to the Spirits of Misfortune –  Ócha’ni Lele
Santeria: the Religion: Faith, Rites, Magic - Migene González-Wippler

Encyclopedia of Spirits: The Ultimate Guide to the Magic of Fairies, Genies, Demons, Ghosts, Gods & Goddesses – Written by Judika Illes Copyright © 2009 by Judika Illes.